Preparation

After another entertaining day at the office, educating he who is sometimes obeyed in the ways of spreadsheets and mercilessly taking and receiving plenty of micky taking, I went to see my reflexologist.

She greeted me with "Where have you been?"
"Work" I said
"No you haven't"
"Yes, I have. All day"
"No, you've been on strike"

Noooooooooooooo. I was in work. I explained the legality - ballots, etc. Then shortly afterwards fell asleep on her treatment couch.

When I awoke, she told me that I was obviously a bit stressed. Yep. That would be possibly due to reading an interesting front page from a respectable broad sheet that advised it's readership that the average 'middle ranking' teacher would receive a pension pot of £500k. I nearly fell off my chair. I should have chuckled, dismissed it - media coverage, bias, presenting partial facts etc. It annoyed the hell out of me.

Came home. More work - things to be done by this work shy member of a lazy profession. Finished at 10pm and then decided I needed to start experimenting and preparing for my activities during Culture Week in school.

Our theme - Spain/Spanish speaking countries. Me? Qualified in economics, Business and ICT....I've volunteered to do a 3 hour ART session every day for 4 days. What was I thinking.

I've made a start - I've gathered together a pile of images that capture the essence of Spanish culture, the colours etc. I've gathered examples of the work of Pablo Picasso.

Now I have to model what I want as an outcome to the three hours, which means me going through the whole process myself, photographing it along the way and making sure that I have put together a decent style sheet to show a range of techniques with pencil, pen, pencil crayon and oil pastels. Oh, and a bit of collage as well.

I don't half do some stupid things sometimes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.