For Neil

This has to be put into context.

Some time ago, last year, maybe the year before, my boss made a comment about JP Chenet being on offer at one of the supermarkets - 3 for £10. I replied that I knew that, because I buy it when it's on offer, as I use it for cooking with. Cue - righteous indignation. Bloody hell - you'd have thought that I had executed the crime of the century. I did try to justify that I never use really cheap crap wine when I cook, because it DOES make a difference to flavour in the final meal. But, oh no, he wasn't having a bar of it. I think maybe he has shares in the company. He seemed to take it awfully personally!

Since then, there have been numerous references to the JP Incident, a number of them instigated by my esteemed colleague and monkey catcher, Chris, who last summer advised me that JPC make an excellent cleaning solution for mountain bikes. You can imagine the response that got.

So, despite a long day at work, I stopped at Asda to get something for tea, and came back with a plan to cook chicken in white wine and parmesan sauce with fresh basil. Asda had the little bottles of Chenet on offer - so I got 4.

During our meal, James came to show me his Crime Scene investigation kit, and I chuckled with delight at the prospect of an easy blip. Clearly, I am a master criminal for using a whole 25 CL of white wine in a meal for two of us. Especially when it is JPC!

So, Boss, this one is for you. At least one of the little bottles is for me to drink later - alcohol cures a cold right?

Wonderful wonderful colleagues, who today met a really tough deadline for us, and have attacked the job in hand with commitment and bucketloads of effort, even though they are all knackered and heading towards the end of their tethers. It is appreciated - I'm going to start reading through them all now - cut off at 11, so I can have a drinkie. Not often I say that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.