Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Large Skipper

It's shaping up to be the second consecutive warm, sunny weekend, and I've certainly noticed an increase in butterly activity. Apart from a few common species, I'm not very experienced at identifying butterlies, and this one had me flummoxed for a bit, mainly as I thought it was a moth. Using the more experienced folk of iSpot, I was soon put right, and discovered that it's a Large Skipper, which with a preferred habitat of "rough grassland with shrubs" is probably at home in our garden next to the moor.

I managed a few reasonable pictures, and it was a close call between this and one other.

I had been trying for picture of a brown butterfly which seems the most numerous on the moor at the moment, but they just seem to flit about without settling. My other bug find of the day was this grasshopper, which I found floating in the kids paddling pool. Luckily it revived once it had dried out a bit.

large skipper ~ butterfly ~ wings opening ~ to the sun ~ burst of orange

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.