Façades

I've been unimpressed with the quality of my photos lately.. but it all comes down to how hard I'm working for it. And the truth is, I haven't been. I've had other priorities. Other things on my mind. Trying to sleep when I get a free moment. Spending time with my family.
So, I decided to look for a photo instead of waiting for one to show up. So here you go. I drove around my hometown this afternoon just listening to music and thinking. I love driving around Beaumont. It's always been therapeutic. Walking around downtown by myself was also nice. The breeze wasn't so much of a breeze as it was a hot wind, however.. and I probably shouldn't be downtown by myself since I can't see what's coming around the corner with my eyes looking through my lens. But all is well.

Elle, my dad, Nuria, and I went to a special mass this morning dedicated to my Uncle Ted. His plane crashed one year ago tonight at midnight in west Texas. I still have his number in my phone. I can't bring myself to delete it. It's been a weird year without him. I miss him a lot and I know that isn't even a third of what my dad feels when he thinks of him -- which is all the time. I've said it before.. but he was a great man. I respected him so much.

Anyway. I'm happy that I've been in Beaumont for my dad's birthday yesterday to celebrate and be a part of this weekend. Sucks that we are banned from lighting fireworks. But... come on.. is that really going to stop us? No. The answer is no.

Dinner at the monastery with the Benedictine monks tonight. They are excellent chefs. Pizza margherita e pasta ai fichi (e crema.. tanta crema). Win. What wine shall we bring?

------------------

You've been on my mind
I grow fonder every day,
Lose myself in time just thinking of your face
God only knows why it's taken me so long
to let my doubts go
You're the only one that I want

I don't know why I'm scared, I've been here before
Every feeling, every word, I've imagined it all,
You never know if you never try to forget your past
And simply be mine

I dare you to let me be
Your one and only
I promise I'm worthy to hold in your arms
So come on and give me the chance

To prove that I'm the one who can
Walk that mile
Until the end starts


-------------
Write-up Edit:
After I posted this, a friend from high school sent me the following message because he instantly recognized my photo....
"Yes I restored that building with Ted Moor in 2006. It was an amazing project. No one had step foot into the building since 1987. We found amazing Ames, Haywood Wakefield, and Herman Miller pieces throughout the building. We also found 6" thick white marble slabs behind the bright orange carpet that adorned the walls. God bless the 1980s... Nonetheless, it is an amazing building and one of the first "Smart Building's of the 1960s." It was built by Edward Dural Stone and Steve Pitts, two famous architects of the day. It was also a Federal Reserve, was the site of the first computerized wire transmission of money to ever be made, and was the largest bank between Houston and New Orleans. Even though the building was not built until 1962 and 1955 was the newest historic building in the Texas register, I went before the Texas Historic Landmark Commission to have the building deemed historical. My petition was passed making 1962 as what is considered historical to this day. This set precedence in Texas thus allowing a whole new era of buildings, like the First City Building, to be protected under the Texas Historic Landmark Commission. Very few people realize how amazing that building really is!!"

So, thank you for your commentary, Tony! Still looking for you on blip...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.