Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Memorial chapel (ruins) - remains of a rear wall

First were my lovely 'Ents', which sit between the chapel doorway and what obviously was the back of the chapel. Then came a blip of the doorway. Finally to complete the trilogy this is what's left of the walls, unfortunately not a great deal! As you can see, nature is slowly taking back it's territory.
The chapel fascinated me when I first 'discovered' it so I had to find out more, which I managed to do compliments of Norfolk Heritage. What I read on their website about elements which were incorporated into it made it even more fascinating.
When I saw the info they had about it, I was amazed to discover that they only knew about the archway. When I spoke to them they were amazed to discover that the wall sections are there too! They requested copies of the photos I originally took soon after finding the place, which they've now added to their archives for viewing by those who come to research the chapel. I notice though that they haven't updated their website yet!
If interested, the details can be found at:
http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/SingleResult.aspx?uid=MNF759

I'd love to have seen the original, complete building. But it's a lovely place just to visit on my lunchtime walks - and, surprisingly (considering how close it is to work), one that my colleagues never seem to know about when I mention it!

What make you think I have a fascination with archaeology?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.