Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Midnight Moth

Mega Midnight Moth.

Very early this morning, not long after midnight, before heading to bed I'd been having a somewhat tipsy (OK, I admit it - VERY tipsy!) look at a rose I want to blip with insects on it, near my door. Then I noticed this beautiful moth on my kitchen window. So I took some shots of it (I'm amazed I could keep my hands steady enough to get anything blippable! lol).

It's almost certainly a Swallow-tailed Moth (Ourapteryx sambucaria). The background of the window and the back of my curtain gave a really mottled, yukky setting which did the moth no justice - so I've edited it to create the black backing, which I think sets it off beautifully. What do you think?

While dunging the paddock late morning I found 2 other contenders for today's blip, but chose the moth.

Contender no.1 - Almost a SP! (taken in a puddle)

Contender no. 2 - Please don't run away! (arachnophobes beware) - this spider really didn't want to be photographed and played hide and seek with me for a while before I maanged a decent shot!

I've been fitting in getting this blip posted around a certain tennis match taking place today somewhere in London - Andy's doing real well so far, but it's a close one .... fingers (and everything else) crossed that he manages to fulfill all our hopes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.