Freshening up.

Up early as the man had to go and give that talk... so a bit more time to fiddle with the camera today. What was not so good was the weather. Not a lot of chance of getting out there and taking pictures today... and anyway, local landscapes are boring me right now. All too samey - the fields are perpetually green, the sky is perpetually cloudy and the land here is well, for the most parts, flat.

So, after dealing with an e-mail from my brother, I flicked through some of last years blips and decided that I had better get my act in gear. I made a promise to someone a while back and I haven't really been keeping up my end of the bargain. Inspiration hasn't really come easily over the last few months.

I guess it's easy to explain... but how do you reinvigorate something like that?

"To perceive freshly, with fresh senses, is to be inspired."
H.D. Thoreau

But where to get fresh senses? Well on this occasion, as it so often does, it meant another trip to the kitchen cupboard. I would of course like to have the appropriate gel filters for my flash, but I don't and to be honest, they are fairly far down the list of priorities. However, in true Blue Peter spirit, I got out some bottles of washing up liquid and had a play.

With the speedlight working remotely and with an orange coloured bottle of liquid in front of it, I tried a couple of shots. Then I also put a blue liquid in front of the onboard flash. Effect wasn't intense enough from the blue light so I tried green. No green liquids, so I stuck a bay leaf in front of the onboard flash. The result is as you see here although I have added a little bit of fractalius for effect.

Oh dear, I can feel a collection of different coloured washing up liquids coming on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.