All that is beautiful

By sharob

Poster Entry

It's International Neuroblastoma Awareness Week .. Participating countries are the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and more .. Join the Facebook Group here, please join as it's important to reach as wide an audience as we possibly can.

The group are running a poster competition in which 3 posters will be selected to be used as profile pictures - or possibly for future advertising campaigns. One of my pictures was pretty difficult - my step dad can't look at it as it upsets him. But for me, technically, it's a great picture using layer and opacity to create the image of a memory. I like it .. although, it's sad that I've created something which conveys a very sad image.

This bliip today .. well, I haven't lost a child, I am incredibly lucky and I know it. I've said it often and I'll say it again, I. Am. Lucky. I love my girls with all my being and will do anything in my power to keep them safe. This is where this image comes in .. an empty pushchair. It sums up the worst imaginable loss to me. When we start out their families, we spend a huge amount of money on what will be the most used item, we research which model will best protect our babies from the elements. Just a shame that even the most expensive pushchair won't protect against childhood cancer.

On a positive note, the group are also running a 'Kindness Voucher' scheme, you can print vouchers from the group, or from the main website, do a kind deed and pass a voucher to the recipient of said kind deed. There is a little write up about why they've been given the voucher, a request to pass the voucher to someone else and some information on why we're doing this. What a lovely idea to 'pay it forward' .. Today, after a particularly mundane at work, a grumpy Mum picking me up from work, me taking too long in nursery picking the girls up and Mum shouting at us all, we went to the shops and had a very lovely, happy and engaging cashier at the checkout. So before I left the store, I made sure to fill out a comments card on how lovely the lady was and requested that she be given our kindness voucher .. I hope she'll pass it on.

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.