Northern Exposure

By Northern

Strangers on a train

A long time ago, on my daily commute by train between Dunbar and Edinburgh (actually that's more like a different lifetime ago) I got speaking to an American tourist. It was one of the most interesting 20 minute journey chats I've ever had.

One of those people who managed to quickly get past the nice day/where are you going/fabulous country/who are you/what do you do stuff in the first couple of sentences and have a real conversation. We discussed the ethos of work and living life with no regrets. An inspirational guy and I've always kept his business card to remind me of that talk.

Last week I got my wallet soaked in a downpour and have had everything drying out over the past few days - donor card, driving licence, library card, islander travel cards, coffee shop loyalty cards etc, etc. I took the chance to ditch most of the rubbish and things that I've kept hold of for far too long but I think I'll keep this guy's card. I'm sure he has no idea who I am but I think our conversation probably nudged me down a slightly different track in my life.

Anyway, one day I might find myself in California and need to hire a Harley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.