Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Hunter Before Dawn

"Thus was I, sleeping, by a brother's hand,
Of life, of crown, of queen, at once dispatch'd:
Cut off even in the blossoms of my sin,
Unhous'led, disappointed, unanel'd;
No reckoning made, but sent to my account
With all my imperfections on my head:
O, horrible! O, horrible! most horrible!"


- the Ghost, in Hamlet, by William Shakespeare

This quote seems a little melodramatic, but judging from my search of my eBook, it is the only instance of the word "disappoint" or variants in all the works of Shakespeare. Believe it or gimme a quote ;-)

Anyway, the disappointment for me was this photo - in which I have rendered Orion an amputee. I immediately fiddled with the tripod and framed the shot better, but it overexposed, and try as I might - racing the oncoming dawn - I couldn't get a better exposure before the stars were totally washed out.

I decided to blip this anyway - for sheer bloody-mindedness. ;-) I would suggest looking at it large to best see the stars that I did get: Orion, and the Hyades in particular.

This is unchanged, as it came out of my Lumix G10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.