Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Manhole

Felt yukky yesterday, under 3 hours sleep last night. So felt REALLY down this morning getting ready for work. I decided to change that, and knew just what would do it.
Over 35 years ago a good pal (a Jefferson Airplane fanatic) rang the doorbell, and thrust a copy of this album into my arms - "Grace's first solo", he said, "you HAVE to hear it, it'll blow you away". He then left for the pub.
We listened, then looked at each other puzzled. It was unlike anything she'd done with the Airplane - quite unlike anything we'd listened to normally. The title track being sung 1/2 in Spanish didn't help. But Trud had a very close taste in music to us, and we respected his judgement - if he said it was brilliant it must be. So we listened once a day for 3 or 4 days - and then WE GOT IT! It was 'Oh WOW, yes!'. Yep, we'd trusted Trud - we knew we could rely on him. It just took a few listens to get there. So I went straight out and ordered it.
Side 2 is great - Come Again? Toucan (took me forever to work out the meaning but when I eventually did I fell about laughing - typical Grace sense of humour), It' s Only Music, Better Lying Down (Grace sings honky-tonk blues accompanying herself on piano ) and finally #Epic (well titled).
But side 1 is sublime - a short intro track (2 mins 43 secs) with my pet-name (Jay). Then 15 mins 23 secs of the most astonishing track (Manhole, the title track) which is the perfect vehicle for her voice, allowing it the full power and scope of which it's capable. She wrote it as the theme music to an imaginary film set in Spain. I dread to think how many times I've/we've listened to side 1 over the years - I frequently listen 3 or 4 times in a row. And Trud was right - it never ceases to blow me away. It did my hubby too. It was worth the perseverance after that intial "what the heck's this" reaction. Thank you Trud. And thank you Grace.
It was produced by Grace, along with her long-time partner Paul Kantner, and David Frieberg, with contributions by Dave Crosby, Pete Sears, Chic & Michael Casady. The cover art is a self-portrait by Grace.
If I was putting together a list of 10 albums for Desert Island Discs this is one which would be amongst my first choices.
And if I ever had to sacrifice all my Grace/Airplane albums but one, THIS is the one that would stay - I can't imagine my life without it, couldn't bear the thought.
I can just fit side 1 twice into my journey to work. And yes, I arrived there smiling inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.