Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Thetford Treasures

Long-horned Soldier beetle (Coymbia rubra) LARGER.

I had a great time today, meeting up for the first time with Nell (who I first came into contact with via the Friends of Nature website, and the Springwatch/Autumwatch forums about 3 years ago). About a year ago we friended on Facebook and it seems we have much in common - and due to my many postings there of Rory Gallagher, she's now totally turned on to his music! Yay! She and her other half Wolfie live not too far from me, so we arranged a meet at Thetford Forest, with their 3 daughters too. We took the 1 and 3/4 mile 'Blue' walk around the area of the Lynford Stag.
The 'Stag' is actually a metal one, visible from the road, which was apparently put there by the original owner of the land (who was a huntsman) to use for shooting practice! What a shame he couldn't stick to just shooting at the metal version ....
There's also a wooden one on the other side of the picnic area, which has steps to enter into its back end (very risque!) and a pole to slide down at the front, for those brave enough to try it. The top is open, allowing aerial views into the forest and over the picnic area. the girls had great fun playing on it.

Whilst on the walk their eldest daughter 'Twiglet' very kindly carried my backpack most of the way for me, making my photography so much easier. How sweet of her ....
I'd hoped to possibly spot an Adder, with the intention of blipping it if I did (taken from a suitably discrete distance, lol). No luck on that score. But we found many other good things to take pics of. I chose this particular Long-horn beetle to blip as it's very striking, and according to research whilst ID-ing it, quite rare in Britain, apart from some selected areas (one of which is obviously Thetford as we saw quite a few of them). But I was quite spoiled for choice really. Here are other shots I took:

A moss like green stars.

Tress can hug too!

The trees have eyes ...

We saw Speckled Woods: A sneaky view from behind. . Are you looking at me?

A very pale Ringlet.

A Common White Wave moth.

From the length of the hind legs I'm sure this was a Cricket but I can't ID it.

There were lots of slugs!

The Scots Pines loomed high above us.

What is it with children and muddy puddles? lol

Before we left I took the opportunity to climb up into the wooden stag (and came back down via the steps, lol). Here's the view from behind one of the antlers.
Here's another view. And here's one more.

The weather had been lovely, then just as we arrived back at our cars for a drink there were downpours and thunder. We timed that just right!

Neither Nell nor Wolfie are blippers, but she does quite a lot of photography and I think I may have persuaded her to join the great community that is Blipland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.