An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Bundle window

Sort of warm again today - 108 degrees - so I decided to walk next door and check out the old post office. I didn't bring my tripod, a mistake I won't make again. There were a number of great shots - well they would have been great except they were out of focus or blurred. But this is probably my favorite of the entire shoot.

This is a magnificint building on the inside. They certainly don't make them like this anymore. A plaque said that the building was built during the administration of Herbert Hoover. - Why does All in the Family come to mind? - Rows of windows lined the central hall. I imagined the 1930s and 40s when people actually mailed things. Back before email and e-chatting and texting and UPS and FedEx.

Now after hours you can't even buy a stamp from a machine anymore. Many postal boxes line the hall. They all seemed to be operational, but I don't know how many are still used.

While taking my photographic tour, several homeless people entered at the far end of the hall and SLOWLY walked to the other end to head back out into the heat. Also a couple young men came in and asked me if the post office was open. Since all the windows were closed, I didn't really have to guess. Where else could the go to find an open post office just after noon on Saturday? Good question. Maybe at the airport 20 miles away.

I might one day soon do a series on this aging beauty. Before it is torn down or converted into something else.

Here is a link to some other shots in and around the post office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.