While on my runs

By waipushrink

Once a store; now it's a bar

Had the grandboys to stay overnight. Instead of reading the agenda after they went to bed I indulged with watching New Zealand beat Australia at rugby. They are SOOOOO fast. Both sides, and unlike South Africa a week ago, Australia didn't wilt at the end.

Of course the lads were early risers. However, as I was being backed up by S in terms of child minding, I went out for a morning run. Took a 10 minute shot; happened to be of a Greer Twiss sculpture I have blipped before. Then shots on way to and from the top of Maungawhau. Variations on a theme.

On the way home, I reached this lovely old building on the corner of Nikau Street and Mount Eden Road. It appealed because of the sun striking the advertisement for sunlight soap, a standard laundry item in my youth. The wording in the grey is "L1,000 Guarantee of Purity". Pounds, not dollars. An original sign, refurbished.

I had a pretty good idea that this was about 10 minutes away from home (different way to how I went on outward journey). So I checked. Okay; I did reduce to a walk a bit further away than I might have if it were not for the challenge. But pleasingly (for an obsessional type) it was precisely 10mins by my watch to the front of the apartment building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.