Capital adventures

By marchmont

Red Hot

Chilli Pipers

The day started with the 'Today' programme following up from TV coverage of London that I sat and watched till nearly 2 - shocked and horrified. The later blips continued to bring home the reality of what has happened to ordinary people.

We discussed 'les evenements' in French (as Louise, the prof, said, the French and the CRS do things differently)and then off to see Shauna, who's happy with my back.

This afternoon was spent on 'the project'. There is some progress on the initial stages but things didn't go exactly to plan as I thought someone was coming here so I didn't go where I was supposed to be and someone who was meant to be here couldn't come. No matter, appointments have been re-arranged and it meant I had time to fiddle with diptychs. I discovered that the Photoshop magazine I bought last year and that has lain on the coffee table since then has a blow by blow (or is that 'layer by layer'?) guide to triptych making. By George, I think she's almost got it!

Then - it was off to the Queen's Hall for the Red Hot Chilli Pipers. The support act Jill Jackson was also excellent but it was the Red Hot Chillis we were all there to hear, and see. I first heard them when M bought their first CD and we used to play it very loud through the outside speakers across the deck at La G. Later part of my therapy dancing around, alone, singing along like a banshee to the bagrock versions of 'We Will Rock You', 'Eye of the Tiger' and 'Smoke on the Water'.

Wasn't quite able to do that to-night and seeing over the standing ones at the front, holding up their i-phone cameras, was also a bit challenging but it was a great night. And what a diverse crowd, an audience aged from 4 to 84 and everyone enjoying themselves, singing, clapping, jumping up and down. you can't go to a Chillis concert and not get involved.

Walking back home along the Meadows saw the Tattoo fireworks, 2nd night in a row,this time from the other side.

I've just finished watching both versions of 'Newsnight' and shouting at the tv. Haven't really seen the news tonight but I gather from my BBC Breaking tweets that there was trouble in Manchester tonight too. Hope it doesn't come any further north. I hope it stops altogether - madness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.