Work / Fringe / Work(ish)

Yet again worked til 4.30pm then went out to the Fringe. Liking this.

Fringe show 12: Deep waters (3.5*)
This performance was inspired by a flooding event in the English countryside, and consisted of sketches, monologues, singing and dancing around this theme. At first I thought they were taking themselves a bit seriously (especially when they got the ribbons out - pictured) but in retrospect it was actually a nice enough 45 mins and they were pretty versatile performers.

Fringe show 13: Devil in the detail (3*)
This didn't start well. I got to Zoo venues and asked for my free ticket and they said they were not advertising them on the free ticket website that day. "Well how did I know to come here and ask for a free ticket then?" was my response. After many many phone calls they sorted it out and let me in. So this was a 'farce' about a landlady renting out a room to someone on a day shift and someone on a night shift - sounds quite amusing. I knew as soon as I started watching it that I was going to hate it. It was really really sinister. It was all performed to music (no talking) and all the characters wore ghoulish masks. It was a farce, yes, but the plot was also very dark. Shudder. And it went for an hour and a half. Double shudder. I think it had artistic merit though, some people might love it, it was very well done.

After that I was technically back to work although again it was a pleasure. I was at Talbot Rice Gallery for an event launch (part of the Edinburgh Art Festival) which included a performance by Ramesh Meyyappan which was excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.