earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Dreich

Really dreich

I've always been aware of the word "dreich" but it's never been close to being one that I would actually use in conversation. Until now that is. Browsing through the journals of so many brilliant Scottish blippers, this word must appear more than almost any other. I think you guys north of the border have endured quite a few summer days like the one we've had here today. It's been dank and drizzly from dawn until dusk, the first day of my blipping life that there wasn't a chink of sunlight at some point during the day. So dreich kept coming into my head today, said with a wonderfully soft Scottish lilt. It was the only title that I could use for this shot. I doubt whether anyone sat on these benches all day.

This is at the lookout seen in a different evening light here and at the shore of a sea of mist here. The patch in the distance that is much lighter than all the others is the field of barley where yesterday's Early Morning Medley was taken. What a difference a day makes.

It continues to be one of those weeks where bugs keep creeping out of the woodwork. It's been non-stop all day except for a short run on the moor in the rain to come up for air. I was actually almost glad it was a dreich day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.