Capital adventures

By marchmont

Apricot tart to cheer up a dreich day

I just love the winter, curled up in front of the wood gas fire, heating on, curtains closed to keep out the draughts, a good book or video to keep me occupied, a glass of wine or mug of hot chocolate, it's

not even the middle of August! Summer???

It has rained more or less nonstop since Saturday. We have flooding in Fife and by the Water of Leith. It is freezing and water dripped from my kitchen roof all morning. The heating and the gas fire are on but I'm forgoing the glass of wine and hot chocolate, at the moment. It's miserable. I have caught up on phone calls though - to my mother, #2 son (on a train on the way back from NOT having to be a witness at Aberdeen Sheriff Court), my mother in law, and my best friend.

I sloshed over to Bruntsfield this morning for a very enjoyable coffee break at Falko's with John Smith. He had coffee, I had coffee and apricot tart (out of shot!). John has Big Plans - I hope I can get involved. Sounds like a real project.

Some things put your own troubles and worries into perspective. I read about
this accident before I went out this morning and wondered if Lady Findhorn (being a keen cyclist too) would know her. Turns out they were friends. Very sad. There is much sadness in the world, death, civil disorder, famine, economic meltdown - I suppose it is ever thus.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.