Capital adventures

By marchmont

I've been everywhere!

I've been to:

Pilrig, Leith, Portobello, Princes Street (bagpipes and Highland dancers in the Gardens), Clerk Street, Straiton (outwith the city, no less), Cameron Toll, Marchmont and back to Fairmilehead.

I've been on a #11, #21, #26, #37, #37 (again), #24. #11 (again).

Round in a circle, or a few circles and all for £4.50 (would have been £3.20 if I'd had change this morning). You can't beat Lothian Buses for a bargain and a great app. An 'Oyster' card equivalent would be even better though.

Why so many buses? - because E's car (the 'mother' of the blind, deaf, incontinent, Spaniel with Alzheimer's and the grey cat, that I'm looking after) has a flat battery and wouldn't start this morning. Means I've seen bits of the city I am totally unfamiliar with - when was I last in Pilrig? Poor Molly was starving by the time I got home to feed her at 5.

The blip is from the top of the #37, a young girl being shown some of the athletic tricks outside Southside Community Centre, where I sing, but not in the Festival.

It was mainly dry during the day, but guess what, it's raining again - looks like that misty, cold, mizzle - yes, definitely dreich and I can hardly see the Pentlands through the greyness and it's windy. Yuck.

Off now to cook seabass, new potatoes, green beans and broccoli with a glass of viognier. Goat's cheese and melon for 'afters'. Can only make things look better.

Edit - weather update, nearly 9 p.m. and getting worse, even less of the Pentlands is visible. I need to live in a hot, sunny country - 0h oops, I DID live in a hot, sunny country! Now why was it I left again?....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.