Capital adventures

By marchmont

Money, money, money

What happens when you put 7 Edinburgh blippers together in 'Spoon'? You get a pile of money, that's what. For the non Scots you can see notes issued by a couple of our 'Scottish' banks - RBS and Bank of Scotland. They still confuse the visitors.

It was good meeting Arclight and Sgt Pepper for the first time and catching up with Mylo, Sands, Allan and Troosers. We had a bit of a 'moan' about the crowded city that Edinburgh is during the Festival, though it's the Fringe really, and talked lifeboats and cameras and, what we'd been to in the Festival - locals go too.

I don't know why but I felt a bit down the rest of the day. Not sleeping well last night and then receiving an anticipated, but unwelcome, message first thing didn't help, but I rose above it. Most of the day was spent on the Project and there was some progress. I've made one decision (oh, I hope it's the right one) and got closer to another one. I hate making irrevocable decisions but they need to be made, don't they? I know I should be enjoying this, but a bit of me isn't. I am so resentful that I'm having been forced into a position where I have to do all this stuff that requires decisions and rakes up the past, but needs must and no point dwelling on it.

Walked back from Spoon and pondered what a completely different place Edinburgh becomes during August. Not only does the city's population increase exponentially but familiar places change out of all recognition. Quite ordinary, everyday buildings become 'venues' and all, it seems, with bars and outside drinking areas. The space behind the University Visitor Centre has become the BBC's centre of operations for the Festival (complete with blow up domes and a catering truck for the crew), Bristo Square is the Udderbelly, the Union (and I remember it as the MEN's Union) the Gilded Balloon, George Square and the university buildings are now home to the Assembly, formerly of George Street. But for me it was across the Meadows (Ladyboys of Bangkok) to Molly and 'New Tricks'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.