Capital adventures

By marchmont

Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien ...

A French theme today.

After a morning on the Project and a struggle up the Royal Mile battling my way through the umbrellas in yet more rain, it was back to the Pommery Champagne Bar with mum for a champagne afternoon tea before part 1 of her birthday present, Christine Bovill at the NLS.

Having watched the DVD of 'La Vie en Rose' (La Mome) last year (unfortunately I left it at La G - quel dommage) I was keen to hear this homage.

I wasn't disappointed. This was outstandingly, amazingly brilliant and the best thing I've been to so far in the Festival. For an hour Christine, from Glasgow, sings the songs of Edith Piaf interspersed with stories of the chanteuse's life and the background to the songs. Her voice is amazing and her interpretation of Milord, la Vie en Rose and of course Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien was fantastic. Unsurprisingly it was a sell out. I was too engrossed to blip Christine during the performance but she posed for this at the end. Thank you.

After Piaf it was round to George Square for a crepe from the creperie with Lady Findhorn who'd been at Craig Hill in the Udderbelly (where sadly her best umbrella still is). Then another soggy walk across the Meadows. I'll soon be swimming home if this rain continues. (However, the weatherman has just said it's going to fine for the Edinburgh Fringe tomorrow - whoopee!)

The French theme continues - an Armagnac with my coffee, c'est bien and Cinemoi (a channel I don't have) is showing 'the Umbrellas of Cherbourg' in a couple of hours. Very apt.

4 years ago today .....I wonder which one reflects my life since then more accurately - 'La Vie en Rose' or 'Je ne Regrette Rien'?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.