Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The natural

Callum, like me, is naturally shy. That he should find himself so content and comfortable in the water is exhilarating to watch. Set loose by the instructor, he reaches out and swims to the side, slipping momentarily under the water and his hands rising above the little ripples he's created, clambering up without delay, standing up and jumping right back in.

Thanks to Belinda for bringing to light how swimming really is a life gift to endow. That's been very much in my thoughts today.

The last three Blips have been all about water. I'm not sure the years I had a pool in my back garden in Florida I appreciated it quite as much as I do the wealth of great outdoor pools in Santa Monica. Yet I would dream of the day when I was able to swim with my longed for babies. Back then it was more of an escape from the intense heat, though my fondest memory was looking at my home all lit up at night whilst I swam in my lit pool under the stars singing REM's "Nightswimming". A few days later, Hurricane Wilma hit and that was the end of that luxury.

I love to hear Reuben sing in the back of the car and Callum jump in:
"When I play my favourite sports
Football my game" (sic)
And he means "football", not "American football", right!

{Will post a video to Youtube/FB too}

Best large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.