Jaume Plensa

Tony and I spent a very enjoyable and sunny day at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park today. I don't know anything about modern art so my reaction/response to it is very much instantaneous - I either like it or I don't. I did like Jaume Plensa's work very much. I have struggled to decide which one to use as my blip so if you would like to see more of them, and other works, follow my link.

Part of the enjoyment of the Park is that you can get some good exercise following the Sculpture Trail through the countryside to the Longside Gallery on the hill, with magnificent views. In the Gallery there was an amazing installation by Aeneas Wilder Untitled #155 which is made of pieces of wood intended for parquet flooring and which has been assembled without any glue or nails - it literally sits like a gigantic Jenga Puzzle (the attendant wasn't impressed when Tony drew that comparison!) and is several feet high. The artist says he wants his work to be enjoyed and not owned, so when the exhibition is over there will be a 'kick-down' when it is literally knocked down to be re-assembled in another gallery. I like the idea of that!

We finished our visit with a very nice meal in the restaurant which overlooks the park, a memorable celebration for our 31st Wedding Anniversary.

Take a look in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.