It's a dogs life!

By LilytheLab

I'm almost too tired to blip....

Oh boy, oh boy I am EXHAUSTED. I am just back from a GREAT agility training session.

There were only 2 of us there this week. Just Chico the Collie and I. We did LOADS.

I did the seasaw and I got it right this time! Well, I got it right with mum holding me on and teacher holding some chicken at the other end! That is progress since the last time when I kept jumping off as soon as I was on.

Then we did walk the plank.....this is where I walk along a plank and have to remember to come off the end with just 2 feet on the ground and the rest of my body still on the plank, I have to wait a second until mum gives me the GO release word. That is hard, I just want to run right off it!

Then we did jumps. We start by just one jump and then build up to 3 (they are only set low to the ground) Mum puts me in a wait and then she walks forward a bit, then when she says GO she runs alongside the jumps and I run through them right to my toy (the chicken pouch tied to a tug toy!!) at the other end. I got it right EVERY time. Teacher said my wait is perfect! How good am I? Mum was very proud. They even put a turn in the jumps so I had to follow mums side as she was running and run across to more jumps and I was FAB!

Then the biggest test of all. 3 jumps and into tunnel with a bend in it, which sounds easy but mum normally puts me in the wait and then goes and stands by the tunnel to show me to go through. This time she ran alongside me and pointed and shouted "Tunnel" so I would go through on my own. The first time I did it I got it RIGHT! Mum was soooo excited and so was teacher. Then the second and third times mum shouted TUNNEL too excitedly, a bit like the chicken holler, so I went running to her rather than the tunnel. Poor mum, she really can't get it right, one minute she is not exciting enough for me to come to her, then the next I run to her when I really shouldn't!!.........I do like to keep her on her toes *giggle*!

I did do it right on a fourth try. Mum was a bit red and sweaty by then and her hair was all over the place. You should have seen her, it was embarrassing!

Teacher was so pleased with me that she has asked me to go along to our club's agility show in October and enter the beginners competition! How cool is that?!

Now......I sound like I have been perfect all night but......nah....you know I can't do that! I did have a few running off sessions, when I would run right past my toy and into the bushes at the end for a good old rummage and sniff around. It doesn't half smell good there. Mum was chicken hollering with all her might but I just loose all focus entirely. I am lead by my nose not my ears!

So I am very very tired tonight and I think mum is by the look of her! We are both going to sleep well tonight I think!

Bye for now
Lily xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.