michigan man

By outdoorguy

Doe and Ray

Doe, a deer, a female deer.
Ray...a drop of golden sun.
 
I can hear Julie Andrews singing now. Do, Re, Mi,
Fa, So, La, Ti, Doooooo. Those Von Trapp kids were fast learners (at least in
the movie.) One long afternoon with Maria, and they were singing like
pros.
 
I don't get to shoot many deer. When I do see
them...they are skittish and un-cooperative. I don't get it. Can't they see that
I have a camera and not a rifle? "STAY WHERE YOU ARE!!!! I MEAN YOU NO
HARM!!!"
 
Doe(short for Dosephine), and Ray were different. I
got to take 65 shots, before a pick-up pulled up behind me, and it was a little
too much for the young fawns. They scurried off to the woods.
 
I never did see Mom. Maybe Doe and Ray are on their
own. Thanks to the farmer for supplying the tasty treats. I hate to say it...but
I had to crop the crop...so I could get more deer in.
 
I'll sign off with a note to the deer hunters in my
family...including Doug, Karen, Jeff, Steve, Matt, and Scott."HOW COULD YOU
SHOOT SOMETHING THIS CUTE? LOOK AT THOSE EYES! LOOK AT THOSE SPOTS!!" You're all
a bunch of Bambi killers...and I hope you get zilch-zero-nada nothing this deer
season. At least my shots end up on the computer, and not in my
freezer.
 
After that tirade...Thanks to my son-in-law who
gave me the horns to hang in my den, and for the horns that I used to decorate a
couple of gourds. Sometimes I am such a hypocrite.
 
Best of luck to Doe and Ray....both lovely
creatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.