SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Waiting for clouds

Today I went up to Bushkill Falls (advertized as "The Niagra of Pennsylvania"). Had I great a great walk around their "2 1/2 hr" red trail. I saw several great waterfalls and took quite a few pics but it was just too sunny. The sunny coming down through the trees made for mottled looking photos with washed out and shadowy portions all over them.

The main falls are over 100ft high. The falls in this shot are a couple of miles further along the trail and are called Bridal Veil Falls. I'd guestimate them to be about 40ft high.

Hoping to try and make the best of it I spent time at a few of the waterfalls waiting for clouds. Standing there with your camera on your tripod pointing at the waterfalls while you gaze up into the treetops attracts attention. If you are going to stand around waiting for clouds dont tell anybody that asks that is what you are doing, strange looks follow.

On the few occasions a cloud zipping across the bright blue sky did briefly cover the sun the light would even out a bit making shots a bit better. This was one of those occasions. I havent had a chance to sort through them fully yet. There may be others that are "workable" with a little dodge and burn.

I may not have got many (if any) good shots but 2 miles up rocky slopes and up and down some very large steps in the mountainside was at least good excercise :-)

I think a revisit on a cloudy day is definitely in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.