SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Star Trails on the Flight Path

You gotta see this large

This is the 4th stars trails blip I've done in the last two weeks and I think its the best star trails image I have produced so far.

I took a bit of work to do this one. Ninety 30 second exposures all stacked using photoshop.

For those that havent seen them before stair trail images are produced by taking long exposures of the night sky.

As the earth is rotating as the exposure is being made, from our perspective the stars in the sky appear to turn in the sky. As the earth rotates around its north/south axis in the northern hemisphere all the stars in the sky

appear to rotate around the north star. So while you can get star trails in other directions you can get the full circle if you point your camera roughly north.

All the lines are planes that flew over while I was doing the shots. I'm not sure I want then in every star trails shot I do, but as we live about 30 miles west of Newark Airport I guess thats unavoidable. Though I suppose I could

get less if I did the shots at about 3 am when the flight traffic would surely be at its lowest.

While doing the shots I also saw a few meteors streak across the sky. Some of them went through the right part of the sky but they were too fast and not bright enough to make it into the image.

Previous trails:
-Thursday 11th
-Friday 19th
-Saturday 21st

See a lot more large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.