sp33dway

By sp33dway

Magic Touch

I actually filled up a little today after hearing Steve Jobs left Apple. Not the proper bottom lipped crying kind, obviously, and definitely not in a weird crazy applefanboy way. But certainly in a way that gives a firm nod to the real-world impact using apple products has had on my life: apple introduced me to the post-letterpress/paste-up world of graphic design, a world that I never even knew existed when I was 19 and a world that has been my job - the majority of my waking hours - since 1996. Without the DTP revolution that Apple created I wouldn't be working for myself now doing what I love to do.

My first computer was an Apple Macintosh Performa 630 (500mb hard drive and 256k of ram. Like WOW.). I gained my degree using it, creating fancy stuff in Director, Illustrator and Photoshop in the days before Flash even flashed. I remember using Photoshop on it for the first time when layers hadn't even been invented. The first ever printer I used in my first ever design job was an Apple LaserWriter. I scanned my first photograph via a PowerPC. Wrote my first email at home on a grape-coloured CRT iMac. Downloaded my first ever audio track on a P0werbookG4. Created my first piece of artwork as a freelancer on a MacPro. Presented my first photography portfolio to a client on an iPad. And every single blip I've created since I joined in 2006 has been posted using something applesey. Not solely due to their looks or form factor, but mostly because apple products are an integral part of a designers life because they do their job in the professional world so well. Like seriously so.

You get the jist.

It was 6 years today btw. The first time since we hitched that it's fallen on the same day of the week and the first one where just the two of us have gone out anywhere on our own since littleA came along. I tasted samphire for the first time in my life today too: bluddy gorgeous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.