The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Where's Wally?

Gord and I planned to do a 6am take off for a bit of fun. I looked out of the window at 5:15 and went back to bed because it looked crap. Got to Croft at 8 and airborne by 9. Very breezy for our 30mph craft: It took us half an hour to do the 5 miles to the River Severn. I gave up trying to make any more headway and cruised up to the bottom of the stratocumulus which was sitting about 5500' above the airfield. Bloody cold - probably around 2 or 3 degrees I reckon. There were a few scattered cumulus below at about 3500'.
The Malverns are in the middle distance and you can just make out Hay Bluff about 37 miles away. I was hoping to find a hole in the cloud cover to climb up through but none was available. I could see the sun through the thin cloud so could have climbed up using that as a reference but had second thoughts about it. It would be illegal anyway - so I suppose best not to.
Despite being a humdrum flight as far as just waiting for the thing to climb I really enjoyed myself. There is something distant, lonely and otherworldly about cloudbase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.