As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

IRENE!

So we had a hurricane...

I woke up at 5:00 for some reason and I couldn't get back to sleep so I went downstairs to check out Irene. We only lost a branch and it blew across the street to the preserve so we're all good. We lost power at 8:30, just as I was walking up the stairs to make oatmeal. That would happen to me. So we lost power. Big whoop. I sat at the dining room table and worked on AP Bio. I did that for a while while listening to Jack Johnson. Then we decided to combat the imminent boredom by taking a family walk to 7-11. We passed by McDonalds and I was crushed to see that they were closed, even though they had power. People these days... So we walked to 7-11. I burnt my hand while making tea and the taquitos weren't hot so we tried Subway. That was closed too. So we went to Prince Umberto's. They were open so we had pizza for lunch. On the walk home I found two dollars in the street! When we got home it was back to work and Jack Johnson.

I went on the most amazing run today. I did a town six in the hurricane-force winds and a light rain. It felt wonderful. Running straight into the wind for almost two miles was completely worth it for the feeling I got in return. Now that I did that, I feel as though I can run in any conditions. I know that I'm going to have an awesome season. I can feel it. And I have to include a shout-out to Momo. His Breakout session really inspired me to push myself and run when no one was really making me. I even did core when I got home! So thanks for motivating me, Momo!

After my run, I decided I could reward myself by going to hangout with Daniella, Sam, and Jess at Daniella's. We ate pizza, almost played a board game, did play Pokeman, and went on a walk around to survey the damage. There are trees down everywhere. We took pictures with some. This one came the closest to doing real damage. So far, I haven't seen any damage to houses. We walked to 7-11 in the dark to get candy at 9:00 at night. It was worth it. Then I walked home and went to bed.

Word of the Day: Homologate - To approve; confirm or ratify

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.