It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Nothing much happens in this village

I live in Broadbottom!

My other half's Dad is a bit of an expert at most things including roman roads and etymology.....you'd be surprised how useful such expertise is especially if you want to know the origin of a village name.

Anyway.... when I asked where the name "Broadbottom" came from, he said "hmmm, these Anglo Saxon's weren't overly original.... have you ever noticed you live in a valley with a broad bottom?..... chortle chortle." I felt silly!

Anyway, I went out for a walk tonight hoping to get a blip of King Edward Potato the champion scarecrow but he was gone. I got this one instead. You see, the village runs an annual scarecrow competition and it's really quite fun. The newsagent regularly runs out of Guardian's so it was no surprise to see a gay scarecrow adorned with rainbow flags this year! That is not to say all Guardian readers are poofs (I read the Guardian) but there are lots of arty fart liberal types about.

My day was good. It's great being back at the velodrome as I got to see some of the Olympic squad training today.....although my meeting went on longer than expected because we didn't concentrate on the points in hand.

Anyway, that's it apart from to say Mooshy Pea the cat was happy to see me tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.