Daily Encounters

By RonaldBerry

CH-47 Helicopter with "Bambi Bucket"

I left for the clinic a bit early this morning so I could photograph the fire attack helicopters at the Madras Airport. I have always wanted to look close-up at one of the big orange "water buckets" that they sling load under the helicopters. I learned the orange water bucket is called a "Bambi Bucket". Such a great bit of trivia to know and another important life goal achieved ;-)

I asked the ground crew if I could walk onto the tarmac and take some pictures. The pilot of the yellow Sikorsky S-61 helicopter said, "Heck yes. The keys are in it, go ahead and take it for a ride." These are good people. The crews are all are sleeping in tents at the airport. It was nice to have the opportunity to thank these folks for their efforts to put the fires out.

The fires are coming under control and the weather is cooperating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.