What's Wrong Here?

As I was parking the VW Jetta in town this afternoon, the parking meter cop was checking meters behind us. Needless to say, I was very careful about putting money in the meter where we parked, so I was very surprised to find one of the dreaded yellow envelopes under the windshield wiper when we returned to the car. The enclosed ticket wasn't for a parking violation -- I'd forgotten to renew the license tabs back in July. I'd signed up for renewal notice by email, which came two months before the due date, and I just forgot about it.

Tomorrow I'll have to go to the city council office to pay the $20 fine before I can renew the tabs online or at the county auditor's office -- different building, but not far way.

Next year I'll print the reminder and put in a prominent location. Better yet, I'll tell C about it. She was in North Carolina when the last reminder came.

For non-Welsh blippers: cariad means sweetheart, or beloved. I got the plate for C when she was living and working four days a week in Seattle, and had the car down there. I earned a lot of points for that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.