mattleachphotography

By mattleach

A New Hero

I've found a new hero in Annie Leibovitz.

I'm in a bit of a rut lately with my photography and although I'm completely obsessed with the hobby don't really know where to go with it. This has made me start to look at famous photographers for inspiration and I read a recommendation of this DVD on a blog. She's had a fantastic life and is brilliant at what she does. Lifestyle portraiture is what I enjoy most and this DVD has really inspired me to go with my love.

I'm finding it really difficult lately. I don't know if any other men come across this but all my friends are very 'blokey' and although I'm very much what I class as a 'mans, man' I'm also the closet 'nerd' in my social group. I have to put up with so much mickey taking about my photography it's untrue. To the point where I've thought about quitting. If I ever get my camera out around any of our children or I'm down the skate park with my son and his friends and I bump into any of my 'mates', all the predictable jokes are thrown at me and I just have to grin and bear it. I know they don't mean it and it's just crap macho humour but it's really starting to grate on me now.

I've been looking at joining a local photography club to be around like minded people but to be honest their members all seem to be pensioners, glad to be out the house and just want to photograph churches and graveyards. I know I'm no youngster and I'm sure they are lovely people but I need a group I will connect with?

Oh well, I'm off to go and buy one of Annie's books to keep me going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.