While on my runs

By waipushrink

Dawn on opening day

Today is the opening ceremony for the Rugby World Cup 2011 at Eden Park, which is just over 1 km away from our home. Early in my run this morning I went past the stadium, just as the sun was rising above the horizon hidden away behind the stands.

There is a festival mood in Auckland today. I have seen a large number of Tongan supporters on the street nearby, waving and seeking (and getting) cheers and toots of support.

The Fan Trail was being well used when I went to collect Young L from his kindy; the boys are spending the night with us. None of those I saw, almost all dressed for the occasion in supporter colours, looked as if they had taken an hour and a half to walk the 3 km to here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.