earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Arboreal Empathy

Highly empathic (and highly recommended)

The little job that turned into a very big job has been duly completed on time and I'm much relieved. It was all about two Health Protection Units merging into one and involved resolving all the data from the two discrete management structures into the new one. There were so many issues that hadn't been thought about in the first instance. Not really my bag this kind of fiddling with data but as the designer of the software I was duty bound really to take it on. I have to admit that I'm much more at home designing stuff than maintaining it. The latter is, however, a very necessary evil!

The tweaking and testing was finally completed at 5pm, so with the scripts due to be run at 6.30 pm I had a decent little window to get out for a run. The weather duly obliged and provided a beautiful evening. I returned with a fistful of possible blips, and almost posted this for the sake of something completely different. That today's blip is another monochrome shot was highly unexpected. The colours on the moor were beautiful tonight, but this somehow had that undefinable wow factor in black and white that it just didn't have in colour. This new medium is really getting under my skin! The thing that most appealed about the shot in general is the way that pine tree in the distance is mirroring precisely the lean of the pine tree in the foreground. I've coined the term "Arboreal Empathy" for this concept and will be looking out for further examples. It amazes me now that I've run past this spot literally hundreds of times and never before noticed this. I love these new blip eyes!

Thanks for the enthusiastic comments on yesterday's Narnia Noir. Following your feedback I felt compelled to rename it. I really thought I'd blown it last night so the fact that you put me in the spotlight with what was something of a throwaway shot has been a great delight! You people out there are quite fantastic. Have a wonderful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.