It's dance! No, yoga! No...it's...ummm

This is Michel Groisman, Brazilian artist, at the Time Based Art Festival going on this week in Portland. Groisman asks himself the question, "If I attach long candles to my arms and legs and use one candle to light the others, moving my body slowly and carefully so that, although I get hot wax all over my back, shoulders, and underpants, I don't actually set myself on fire; and if I attach long straws so that I can put the fire out whenever I want, and if I make a kind of yoga-dance performance with this movement, will people want to watch?" I've never thought about that particular question before.

Grazingllama and I went to see this and other provocative installations, happenings, and performances. I'm curious to see what she posts.

I apologize for deleting the Blip I posted yesterday. I liked that picture in the morning, but by the afternoon, I thought it was crap, and I just couldn't leave it up. Thanks to those of you who made kind comments. I know I really challenged you to think up something supportive to say, but I just couldn't live with myself and leave that up. I'm edging my way toward 200, one forward and then sometimes two back, but I'll get there soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.