a town called E.

By Eej

A Toast!



It's considered the Best Weekend of the Year, by many, 'our' Wine & Harvest Festival. Last night we went to the Brewery around the corner where I festively loved the Raspberry Wheat while the Beloved sang the praises of the Black River Stout. And we danced the night away. Gosh. It was so lovely.
We walked home through the foggy night, hand in hand and stuff. And I made grilled cheese sandwiches, because beer makes hungry.

This morning/afternoon we went and saw the Parade, though we almost didn't make because I somehow managed to get a shoelace caught in my bike chain on the way there. What? The Beloved had to saw it out with a nail file while I got on his bike to not be late :/
Then we went over to the St. Julian's tent. St. Julian is our local winery and this year they are celebrating 90 years in business. 1000 Commemorative glasses filled with champagne would make for the biggest toast in SW Michigan history, and we, Jeff, Brenda, the Beloved and me, made sure we stood in line early. And so did many other people. A festival of lushes, I called it :)
We danced, we sang, we joked around, I got permission from other people in line to leave for a bit and take some photos.
After we got our glasses we all gathered together for the Official Photo. More jokes.

Then there was America the Beautiful, which was extra poignant because of today's date but there was a mascot in a grape outfit looking very solemn and that struck me as funny, and then, because it was there, we kept filling up our pretty glasses with the leftover plastic cups of champagne.

Now, we were talking yesterday about how alcohol effects people in different ways and the Beloved said wine makes him feel shiny. Champagne makes me feel shiny AND sparkly. Weeeeeeeee! Like that. It's amazing I'm able to type at all :/
Anyway, blah blah, it was all wonderful and I'm very sad I have to wait another year.

To small towns, to friendship and to Blip, as today is my 600th. How fortuitous :)
Cheers!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.