Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Rainbow Smile

I decided not to take my camera out with me to work today, first time this term. Five minutes into the journey I regretted it as the clouds were in the valleys and the views stunning. Could of stopped off for a quick snap that would have been tremendous.

Then as I was in the playground seeing the children in, this appeared in the sky directly above us!!!!!! AARRGGGHHH - had to leg it to get the cheap compact from my classroom.

I am sure it has some fancy name, but I am not an expert on rare weather phenomena. I have never seen anything like it. It was very high in the sky and although rainbow-coloured, had the shape of the particular clouds it was in. There was a similar, but smaller, one a little way down towards the horizon too (not in this capture, caught it on others) and a streaking rainbow ray (in the shot). Lasted a few minutes.

I took it as a sign of a good day ahead. Well, apart from a crappy first lesson, I suppose it was.

No colour enhancement whatsoever, just a bit of contrast/clarity if you're wondering.

NOTE TO SELF: TAKE CAMERA EVERYWHERE

************************************
Update: I have been looking online, and I am wondering if it is a Circumhorizontal Arc, that may be the same thing as a Fire Rainbow. If so, seems that it's an extremely rare event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.