Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Revelation!

I went for my luncthime walk today, prepared for a bliphunt as normal. It's been a fabulous sunny, hot day. With it being Autumn there's a cornucopia of things worthy of blipping. I ended up taking 71 shots in a 1/2 hour lunch break - and now have a list of enough blip subjects to cover the next couple of weeks! Once I'd sorted through them tonight I came down to 2 - the other was these stunning red leaves filtering the sun.
Today was a revelation to me. These last couple of years since losing Bri (my OH), I've taken little notice what's around me. With its now painful associations I've pretty much turned a blind eye to the glories of the last 2 Autumns. But since joining blipFoto at the beginning of July I've started looking at the world again, it's given me a reason to. And today came the revelation - there I was once again getting all enthusiastic and oohing and aaahing over the shapes and colours I was seeing, just like I used to do before my Darkest Day veiled my vision. Like a light suddenly coming back on, I'm SEEING the world - especially Autumn - and all it's beauty again - and appreciating it. And that's all because of blipping.
So a BIG "thank you" to blipFoto for giving me a reason to open my eyes and mind and see again.
And massive thanks and hugs to the 2 who insisted I should join - Daily Wild (emyjane) and Monkey Life. If it weren't for them I'd most likely still be walking around seeing the world in shades of grey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.