Great Timing ....

Super-sized slug.

What an afternoon! Firstly I needed to put a new bulb into the light in my hay/feed store ready for the darker mornings and evenings. Nice easy job - so I thought! Except the 2 screws securing the cover to the light wouldn't shift (not much fun when you're on a stepladder and it's still just above head height). Eventually, after much faffing about, I sorted that and thought I'd best see about a blip.

Then I realised that the drain outside my kitchen had become totally blocked. Now this is something which does happen once in a while. Even when my OH was alive, as my hands are much smaller than his were, I always ended up dealing with it - so much easier for me to get my hand down and up into the U bend where it seems to happen. It's not a pleasant job - stinky and time consuming. Suffice to say it took me on this occasion over 2 and 1/2 hours to get it clear, aided by a plunger - and ended up with me soaked, stinking like a polecat and needing a bath and change of clothes the moment I finished.
Of course I hadn't been able to sort out a blip,but at one point I spotted this gorgeous orange slug on a Hellebore leaf nearby. I needed a cuppa anyway, so went inside, washed my hands thoroughly, made the drink and returned outside with my camera. That slug had appeared at just the right time!

Finally the drain was cleared, I put dinner on to cook (luckily I'd prepped it earlier) and grabbed my bath. It's now 9 o clock and I'm only just sitting down to eat - I think I may need to wash the food down with some wine! lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.