Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Tuesday: Grosvenor Estate

I had a meeting over in Pimlico this morning which, from a blipping point of view, was excellent.  From an 'interesting' meeting point of view it was less excellent.  Pimlico has some cracking architecture - including some brilliant housing estates dating back to the early part of the last century.  I have a friend who lives in one of them and who says that the lighting inside is just amazing.  In her words, 'whoever built them, really understood buildings'.

This is part of the chequerboard buildings which can be found on the Grosvenor Estate.  These were built by the Duke of Westminster to replace slums in the area and were supposed to be 'decent working-class dwellings'.  They were designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens (who designed a lot of the buildings in central London and in New Delhi).  The current Duke of Westminster still owns the estate - my friend has to pay him £10 a year ground rent (in addition to her other bills and a mortgage of course - she doesn't just pay £10 to live there).

And I have realised something today: My name's Booky and I am a buildaholic.

I'm such a sucker for a building.  Others may love nature, or plants, but for me it is architecture.  It can't be a coincidence that some of my favourite cities are the most built-up..........I could swoon over buildings.  In fact, I am off to lie in a dark room for a while......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.