Forsythia

A lovely day, apart from a chilly breeze.

It was a good day to tackle the greenhouse where I had dug a deep trench and hole so that my son could repair the broken mains water pipe some months ago. I'd filled in part of the trench, but there still was the hole and a dip in the path. The topsoil had been spread over the adjacent area and planted, and the subsoil had gone to fill other holes.

To begin with I relaid the edging. For fill I dug down into the lower layers of the cold compost heap, which has not been heated up to kill the weed seeds. I'll probably regret this later. Then I spread bought compost on top. I used to make large quantities of hot compost, but it is labour intensive, and beyond me now.

The path was easy. A huge pile of chainsaw dust was ready and waiting.

A big thanks for all the hearts and comments on my yesterday's shot. I'm really thrilled. However, after the work I've done today I don't think I will be up to returning all your lovely comments tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.