Bleu marine

Last time I visited the Towner Gallery in Eastbourne, when it had just opened and it became the subject of one of my very early blips - here - this new art college building across the road hadn't yet been built. It's another in my seaside architecture series, far from my usual subjects, but still very marine in style.

The exhibition at the Towner gallery was 'John Piper in Kent and Sussex' - a very interesting collection, especially his early abstract and semi-abstract mixtures of collage and paint. I felt his later became more traditional and less exciting - perhaps one of the dangers of state employment for artists? Piper became an official war artist documenting ruins.

An early train tomorrow morning and a long day's journey home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.