a town called E.

By Eej

At around ...

... 3, this afternoon, I was outside cleaning the birdbath. I use the term loosely as it was more spraying water around while blissfully relaxed staring into nothingness, but there was some cleaning involved as well. All of a sudden something swooped over and to the side of me. A hummingbird. It proceeded to investigate every flower of the hibiscus right next to me. So close that if I had lifted a finger maybe 3 inches I would have been able to touch it.
But ofcourse I didn't.
I just stood there, pretending to be a very large tree, holding my breath.
A few times it dashed in front of me, two times it actually looked at me. I just stared at that shiny, sleek, little body, listened to the hum it made. It seemed to last forever, but was over too soon.

And I thought I was privileged when it sat 7 feet away from me, Sunday. This completely floored me.
I guess my blissfully relaxed state is attractive to hummies? Something to strive for :)

Anyway, I have no photographic evidence so you'll just have to imagine this hibiscus flower being visited by a precious little bird. YAY for Biscuit who once again has justified her existence and who we* will carry into the house, happy and not at all cursing because she weighs a ton and her pot has very sharp edges, when winter is here.



*I use that term loosely too. Ahem. *bats lashes at Beloved*




I completely forgot: I watched the video of Joe doing a presentation for Social Media Week last night. It was a little unnerving as I didn't know my video bit was going to be included so I went from dread to excitement and back.
And it was included. And nothing scary happened. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.