A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Story time

I decided to have a walk around Coppice Pond this morning. Coppice Pond is part of the St Ives Estate bequeathed by the Ferrand Family to Bingley as mentioned in my Monday blip.
I realised I hadn't done this since late Spring when the Iris were in flower and thought the views and wildlife might be interesting at this time of year. There are still lots of Geese to be seen with people feeding them and the ducks with seagulls trying to get in on the act, and also the odd fisherman on the edge of the lake. One or two trees were showing Autumnal colour - the Rowan in particular. Lots of fungi coming through at the base of the trees.

When I had finished my walk I drove through the estate and stopped near the children's play area. A place I no longer visit with no children to take, but I knew there was a very old tree there that I wanted to look at. It is a Purple Beech planted in 1890 by William Busfield Ferrand and is now surrounded by a fence to protect it as it is in decline.

Finally I spotted the chair and toadstools - one of many wood sculptures through the estate - and liked the Lime green leaved trees surrounding them (not sure what they are). I think the whole scene looked rather magical so this is my choice for today.

Lots more things I can draw on in the future - I hope I am walking round the pond again before it is frozen over as it was last December here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.