Flying The Flag

I may change this picture later. I have about 240 and haven't seen the majority of them yet.

The event to celebrate the re-opening of the Forth & Clyde Canal 10 years ago went off spectacularly well. There was a host of different boats including traditional barges, mini steam boats, a mini replica puffer, motorboats, and vessels which are a combination of a caravan and a boat. The oldest boats were a large Dutch barge which is more than 100 years old and the Ratho Princess which was built in 1923.

I arrived at Speirs Wharf around 9:50 in time to see the superb Sheboom drum band. I took a few pictures and then headed up to Applecross to photograph them all as they passed through the first lock. I then went to The Stables between Bishopbriggs and Kirkintilloch to catch them again. Then later in the afternoon I went to Twechar to view them going though the lock and finally the arrival at Auchestarry.

I don't think I will have any spectacular pictures but a lot of very decent ones. Probably won't even have time to look at most of them today.

ps. Just noticed an interesting picture I took from a bridge looking directly down on one of the larger boats which has a pipe band playing on deck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.