From where i stand!!!

By Dancingninja

And now for something completely different..

Ninja training!!! Me with my gloves on!! A few of you blippers have wanted to know a little bit more about it so here goes....

The club I belong to is called ECKA (English Contact Karate Association ), I joke saying it's ninja training, but it is actually a modern form of karate, like kickboxing!!!

I got into it when a friend of mine who's a black belt said they were doing a beginners course and knowing me if I came a long and tried it I would fall in love with it, needless to say she was right and 2 and a half years later I have managed to get to a blue belt, which is 2 away from getting a black belt!!!! Grading is roughly every 3 months up to your brown belt then you wait 6 months and then about a year and a half after that to your black belt! I have a plan and that is to get my lack belt in my fortieth year, Simples!!

Each lesson is so different it always involves a warm up of some sort for about half an hour the rest of the lesson could be line work which could be a combination of kicks and punches, sparring or freeform work which is a sequence of moves all put together, like acting out someone attacking you!!!

I love all of it sparring in particular, you don't get hurt as such, she types, thinking hmmmm last year I did break my wrist, 3 mins before the end of the lesson, someone kicked me and I fell back and put my arm out to break my fall which it obviously did!! G and the boys were not impressed it was the day before we were flying out to Malta. Ooopps we didn't go as you can't fly within 24 hrs of a cast being on. Now I don't usually train the week before a holiday!!

It took a while to get my confidence back up, but thankfully I did, you just have to get on with it sometimes don't you!!!

My next goal is the nationals which is in nov, which will involve a freeform and light continuous which will be 2 minute rounds of sparring maybe 4 maybe 2 depending on how well I do!! Thankfully I feel really focused and when I'm training have got the mindset of thinking I've got to train harder than my opponent will be whoever that may be!!!!

So in a nutshell that is it I love it!!!

By the way sorry to jkj10 another sp and you still can't see my face!!

;0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.