The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Where It All Began! -- October Origins

A new month, and a new challenge.

Sporadically through this month I (and a number of other blippers) are going to be running a theme of October Origins!

The idea is simple .. what made you, you? I explained in full back in this blip.

So I thought I would start with the first part of why I am called the Ponty Cyclops.

I support the greatest rugby team on earth called Pontypridd RFC. We play at the self styled House Of Pain at Sardis Road. Everyone hates us, but we don't care! You get the idea! ;o)

I have been going to support Ponty for quite a long time now! I am quite passionate about Ponty -- as this blip of mine testifies!

Ponty has played a huge part of my life over the past 20 odd years, as with all sporting theatres, there have been many laughs, tears, and moments of sheer joy that will live for you forever.

Alas, due to my shift patterns, I don't get to go as often as I would like, but I suppose that will all change after Christmas.

I managed to get down there today for a bit of a grudge came against Llanelli RFC.

Funny old game, played out in this funny old weather. Short sleeves on October the first?

Llanelli played well, but kept on missing easy penalties, and then Ponty had a purple patch in the second half, and run in two tries and penalty in ten minutes or so, and turned the game on it's head!

Man of the match was Rhys Downes. Here he is passing the ball away from the base of a ruck.

Great to have some fresh air, and it wasn't a bad game of rugby to boot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.