Mud

As I mentioned yesterday, today I went to the National Off-Road Championships at Quail Valley (Nelson). What fun!

To make it interesting we had to park one side of a creek, slide down the bank, tentatively creep across a bridge made of pallets nailed together and then stumble up the other bank. It rained with varying degrees of intensity the whole time we were there, and a lot of people had made the trek before us - making the mud somewhat hazardous - but we made it there without landing on our backsides.

Yesterday was mostly dry, so we definitely had the more 'fun' day of the racing - the more it rained and the more cars went around the course, the bigger the holes got. That meant that as time went on there was more mud thrown by tyres and more air taken by cars as they bounced between the holes. Serious entertainment.

While we were there only one car tipped right over (driver unhurt), and although I got that on camera I feel this is capture, from a different race, is far better as it shows air, mud and serious competition.

VERY entertaining photo session, I learnt lots and wish I'd been earlier as it would have given me more time to play around with settings. My camera and I will definitely be attending more racing in the future.

Note to self: next time wear gumboots and get a raincoat for camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.